Help with Smith Chart for Matching at 433MHz - RF Cafe Forums

The original RF Cafe Forums were shut down in late 2012 due to maintenance issues - primarily having to spend time purging garbage posts from the board. At some point I might start the RF Cafe Forums again if the phpBB software gets better at filtering spam.

Below are the old forum threads, including responses to the original posts.

-- Amateur Radio
-- Anecdotes, Gripes & Humor
-- Antennas
-- CAE, CAD, & Software
-- Circuits & Components
-- Employment & Interviews
-- Miscellany
-- Swap Shop
-- Systems
-- Test & Measurement
-- Webmaster

PaulMetcalfe
Post subject: Help with Smith Chart for Matching at 433MHz Posted: Sat May 16, 2009 3:58 pm

Captain

Hi,

I'm new to Smith Charts, I’ve done a lot of reading and understand the concepts but am having a little difficulty navigating my first problem.

I’d like to design a circuit to match a BAT54 diode to a 50ohm source for the purpose of creating a low-cost, ASK detector at 434MHz. Hoping to achieve useful sensitivity down to about -50dBm.

I’ve forward biased the BAT54 with 10uA and measured the S11 using my network analyser. It looks mostly open circuit and slightly inductive, see attached plot which represents 400 to 450MHz.

Is there anyone out there who can help me? If someone’s got the time, I’d prefer to get my head around the approach and method rather than just be given the solution.

Many thanks

Paul.

http://www.lightsymphony.com/pauls/smith.gif

IR
Post subject: Re: Help with Smith Chart for Matching at 433MHzPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 2:33 am

Site Admin

Hi Paul,

Is it possible in your application to increase the forward bias to 100uA? It should give you an easier starting matching point.